Skip to main content

Ray Flynn Tribute Mile, 2 October 2017

Longford AC Juveniles were out in force on Monday 2nd October to take part in the Ray Flynn Tribute Mile. The event was organised by Irish Runner and the Liam Fenelon of the Longford Marathon Committee to celebrate the 35th Anniversary of Ray Flynn’s Irish mile record that still stands today, 3:49.77 minutes set on July 7, 1982 in Oslo at the Bislett Games.

A large crowd of 122 runners, including Ray Flynn and Enda Fitzpatrick, took to the starting line on the Ballinalee Road finishing at the Cathderal.  Running a paced mile was a new experience for nearly all the juveniles, following more experienced pace setters at 5, 6, 7 and 8 minute times. Its not every Monday night that members of Longford AC get the opportunity to run with a local legend who is a 2 time Olympian and Irish record holder!

Congratulations to 1st place Shane HEALY 00:04:29, 2nd place Cian MC PHILLIPS 00:04:36, and 3rd place Ben DOYLE 00:05:03, who were all presented with engraved crystal vases by Ray Flynn at the talk and social after the race at The Longford Arms Hotel.

4 minute times: Cian MC PHILLIPS 04:36

5 minute times: Christopher CONATY 05:21, Donal MULLIGAN 05:24,Joe REILLY 05:47, Darren O’NEILL 05:47, Michael O’HARA 05:54,

6 minute times: Brendan FINNAN 06:05, James GALLIGAN 06:10, Sean CROSSAN 006:11, Aidan O’BOYLE 06:20, Daniel HAYDEN 06:21, Kate HAGAN 06:48 **finished just next to Ray Flynn !, Tamara COSGROVE 06:53, Siog REILLY 06:54, Anna HAYDEN 06:54, Sarah MC PHILLIPS 06:54, Aideen MULLIGAN 06:55, Davidson Osulanya 06:56, Avril COSGROVE 06:58

7 minute times: Liam GALLIGAN 07:08, Alyssa GALLIGAN 07:12, Laura FARRELL 07:14,

8 minute times: Maria HAYDEN 08:30, Paula SEVILLANO 08:34, Elena DIAZ 08:35, Caitlin MAHER 08:40, Caitriona HAYDEN 08:41, Edwige MOTA 08:44, Aoife MAHER 08:56

9 minute times: Casey RUSKE 09:28Abbie RUSKE 09:31

All Photos courtesy of Tiernan Dolan.