Skip to main content

County Longford Primary Schools’ Cross Country Championships

Saturday 26th September 2015 held at Moyne Community School

196 children took part, representing 14 national schools in Co. Longford

116 from 3rd\4th classes and 80 from 5th\6th classes


Individual Results:

3rd\4th class Girls 800m race                                      3rd\4th class Boys 800m race

Aisling Lane, Colehill                                                       Harry Mulvihill, Stonepark

Kate MacEntire, Dromard                                             Kieran O’Dowd, Fermoyle

Nikola Purgot, Ballymahon                                           Ross Shields, Newtownforbes

Aoife Kennelly, Fermoyle                                             Seamus Walsh, Killoe

Elysia Brady, Colmcille                                                    Cormac McGann, Kenagh

Sian Gallagher, Ardagh                                                  Cormac Egan, Colehill

Eimear Igoe, Killoe                                                           James Gillen, Ardagh

Caoimhe Crossan, Edgeworthstown                        Brian Mulvey, Colehill

Tara Crossan, Newtownforbes                                  Jack Reilly, Ballinalee

Amy Burke, Newtownforbes                                      Adam Guidon, Ballymahon


5th\6th class Girls 1000m race                                      5th\6th class Boys 1000m race

Lauren McGuire, Colehill                                              Brendan Finnan, Ardagh

Melissa O’Kane, Ardagh                                                                Cathal Farrell, Ardagh

Kate Hagan, Newtownforbes                                     James Galligan, Newtownforbes

Aideen Mulligan, Killoe                                                  Jack Gallagher, Ardagh

Rosie Flanagan, Stonepark                                           Christopher Conaty, Colmcille

Funmi Talabi, Edgeworthstown                                 Matthew Carey, Newtownforbes

Katie Lynch, Ardagh                                                        John McCormack, Colehill

Caoimhe Mulvey, Colehill                                             Mark Rowley, Killoe

Sarah McPhillips, Ardagh                                              Eoin Kiernan, Legan

Caoilinn Flood, Fermoyle                                              Daniel Hayden, Ardagh


Team Results:

3rd\4th class Girls 800m race: 1st Killoe (47 points), 2nd Newtownforbes (59 points), 3rd Colehill (80 points)

3rd\4th class Boys 800m race: 1st Kenagh (53 points), 2nd Colehill (55 points), 3rd Stonepark (60 points)

5th\6th class Girls 1000m race: 1st Colehill (34 points), 2nd Ardagh (35 points), 3rd Newtownforbes (75 points)

5th\6th class Boys 1000m race: 1st Ardagh (17 points), 2nd Newtownforbes (38 points), 3rd Killoe (62 points)

The Harry Farrell Perpetual Shield for Best Overall School was won by St Mel’s National School, Ardagh who put in a very strong performance in the 5th\6th class races. Three of the girls team finished in the top 10 in their race and the four scoring members of the boys team scored in the top 10 with 5th runner coming in 12th place giving them the best team score of the day 17 points (1,2,4,10)

1st place Ardagh, 2nd place Colehill, 3rd place Killoe, 4th place Newtownforbes

Other schools that took part:

Stonepark, Ballymahon, Fermoyle, Dromard, Colmcille, Kenagh, Edgeworthstown, Ballinalee, Legan & Gaelscoil

Race for 1st\2nd year secondary school students.

Girls 1000m: 1st Hazel Johnston, Lanesborough, 2nd Roisin Brennan, Lanesborough

No team entries

Boys 2000m: 1st Cian McPhillips, 2nd Oisin Lane, Mercy Ballymahon, 3rd Adam Shields, St Mel’s College

Cian McPhillips, Daniel Madigan, Edward Donoghue and Killian Rawle, Moyne Secondary School, were the winning boys team.