Skip to main content

Hosted by Longford Athletics Club
Clonguish GAA, Newtownforbes – 29 April 2022

The 8th annual Co. Longford Primary School Relays took place in Newtownforbes on Friday with the event making its return having been last held in 2019. On a perfect evening for running, a record 612 children from across the county took part which was great to see.

17 national schools were represented: St. Patrick’s, Killeen; Stonepark; St. Matthew’s, Ballymahon; Melview; Scoil Samhthann, Ballinalee; Scoil Mhuire, Newtownforbes; St. Guasacht’s, Bunlahy; St. Teresa’s, Killoe; Fermoyle; St. Columba’s, Mullinalaghta; St. Mel’s, Ardagh; St. Mary’s, Edgeworthstown; St. Mary’s, Drumlish; St. Patrick’s, Ballinamuck; St. Patrick’s, Dromard; Scoil Mhuire, Clondra and Tashinny.

This was the highest ever number of schools to take part in the event. Well done to the girls and boys who ran at what was a great evening of races and many thanks to the schools and parents.

St. Mary’s NS, Edgeworthstown with the Ray Flynn trophy for the best performing school overall

St. Mary’s NS, Edgeworthstown with the Ray Flynn trophy for the best performing school overall

Congratulations to St. Mary’s NS, Edgeworthstown on winning the Ray Flynn trophy for the best performing school overall. A points tally of 27 ensured that they took home the trophy for the fifth successive time. Scoil Mhuire NS, Newtownforbes finished runner-up with 23 points with Melview NS in third place on 14 points.

Scoil Mhuire NS, Newtownforbes finished runner-up

Melview NS in third place

Relay Races Results – 4 x 200 metres

 1st Place2nd Place3rd Place
2nd Class GirlsNewtownforbesEdgeworthstownKilloe
2nd Class BoysMelviewEdgeworthstownEdgeworthstown
3rd Class GirlsNewtownforbesMelviewEdgeworthstown
3rd Class BoysNewtownforbesBallymahonDromard
4th Class GirlsArdaghEdgeworthstownBallymahon
4th Class BoysMelviewEdgeworthstownNewtownforbes
5th Class GirlsNewtownforbesEdgeworthstownMelview
5th Class BoysKilloeEdgeworthstownBallymahon
6th Class GirlsEdgeworthstownArdaghBallinalee
6th Class BoysFermoyleEdgeworthstownNewtownforbes
3rd / 4th Class Mixed *    FermoyleKilleenMullinalaghta
5th / 6th Class Girls *    TashinnyKilleen 
5th / 6th Class Boys *    TashinnyKilleen 

* race for smaller schools (3 or less teachers).


Subs Races Results – 200 metres

2nd Class Girls 

1. Katie Smyth, Drumlish; 2. Falén Delaney, Melview; 3. Lauren Walsh, Melview.

2nd Class Boys

1. Aidan McDermott, Killeen; 2. Mark Reilly, Ballinalee; 3. Stephen McDonagh, Newtownforbes.

3rd Class Girls

1. Lena Sadowska, Melview; 2. Scarlett Crozier, Dromard; 3. Suzanna Dzarnik, Edgeworthstown.

A special mention to Shauna Mahon of Newtownforbes who deservedly received a warm reception from all in attendance as she finished. Well done Shauna.

3rd Class Boys

1. Ethan Donnellan, Fermoyle; 2. Stephen Cox, Clondra; 3. Cormac McGloughan, Ballymahon.

4th Class Girls 

1. Ava Browne, Killoe; 2. Margarita Auztlizes, Clondra; 3. Rebecca Jacob, Killoe.

4th Class Boys

1. Eoghan Mulligan, Ardagh; 2. Darragh Clarke, Newtownforbes; 3. Luke Donohoe, Dromard.

5th Class Girls

1. Grace Hourican, Melview; 2. Shanaibh Flood, Killoe; 3. Layla Blessington, Bunlahy.

5th Class Boys

1. Timothy Sheridan, Ballinalee; 2. Toms Jekabsons, Melview; 3. Cian Caughey, Killoe.

6th Class Girls 

1. Skye Donnelly, Killoe; 2. Amy Reynolds, Ballinalee; 3. Layla Al Fuwers, Melview.

6th Class Boys

1. Michael Sorohan, Fermoyle & Szymon Dzarnik, Edgeworthstown (joint first); 3. Thomas Reilly, Edgeworthstown.


Many thanks to all that helped with the staging of the event, to the Civil Defence and event PA. We are very grateful to Clonguish GAA for the use of their excellent grounds. 

A big thank you to Paddy McPhillips as Event Co-Ordinator and to Leslie Finnan as MC for the evening. 

Please send any results queries or clarifications to